RSS Feed

Apple Canning Party!

Posted on

014

What a delightful day.  Liz and Eleanor joined me for apple canning.  We made two different kinds, even! Apple Wedges with Red Hot Cinnamon Syrup and also Apples with Dried Cherries and Golden Raisins.  We did have a bit of trouble with our initial batch-three jars leaked and didn’t seal!! The Ball guide assured us to try again with new lids and we did and it seems ok.  The thing about canning is it’s quite nerve wracking because you really don’t know how it went until you eat it months later and see how you feel! But based on the look of the jars? Beautiful. And the smell? Delicious? Clark remarked “It smells delicious in here. The smell is just drifting to my nose.” Indeed it was. Cinnamon, red hots, cloves, and hand picked apples. The kids ate some of the extra cooked in syrup apples and they pretty much gobbled them up.

It was so nice to have people to do this with.  Instead of being a slightly tedious project, it was fun to have kitchen companions and other hands to help. Plus, with Pookie there we had our very own photographer.  You must check out her awesome pictures here.  Especially because I’m inadvertently channeling Betty Draper in one of them. I think I look quite fetching!  So not as many pictures here as usual because frankly the ladies at IPB did a great job taking pictures and describing the process. Here is their post about today.

 

Tomorrow I’m going apple picking again, and I think next up is a big batch of applesauce.

Gasp! I just realized that one of my categories is “Cookery”, a term I employ because it’s a library thing- a quirky little subject heading that everyone needs but usually only librarians know.  Well guess what? The Library of Congress has announced they are changing it! Modernizing! No longer will it be “cookery”, now it will be “cooking”.  But it shall live on as cookery here at Sew Buttons.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. I’m so glad we could leave your house filled with delicious smells that just drift into Clark’s nose! I’ve got to say thanks for the billionth time for having us over for the canning party — it was so, so, so much fun!!

    And you know what? I think you should keep the term “cookery”. That’s an awesome word.

    Reply
  2. Thanks again for inviting us over for this awesome party!

    No longer will it be “cookery”, now it will be “cooking”.

    I saw that! Quelle horror!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Clafouti! (Gesundheit) « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

