RSS Feed

Getting Organized and Puppy Pants

Posted on

126

A little while ago I bought myself a spool organizer and I absolutely love it. I find it very inspiring and soothing to see all my spools and bobbins in almost rainbow order.  Not to mention it keeps them better organized.  Today we were all very mellow-the weather was cold and dreary and we were tired out after Tabby’s birthday party yesterday.  So I undertook a little sewing area reorganization.  I sorted through all my trims and bias tapes (apparently I have a zillion packages) and I found a good way to organize/store/take better care of the ribbons and trim.  I took part of a cardboard box and wrapped them around it and pinned or taped the end.  I also did this with the loose bias tape. Voila! So much better.  I’d love to have it out somewhere where I can gaze at it all the time, but I put it neatly in one of the sewing tins. I also sorted out all the elastic, pins, snaps, and needles.

090

096

Before I embarked on this organization I had sewn up some flannel pants for Tabby.  I had cut the pieces out over a week ago and this was my first chance to sew it together.  In the meantime I had already made her a pillowcase and her doll some pants out of the same fabric.  Well, now they can all be matchy-matchy because the pants are complete.

131

And, once I saw all my organized trims and notions I knew the perfect way to finish them off: pink piping along the bottom!

130

And I have to say, I bought this fabric at Wal-Mart (I know) for $4/yard and it is some of the nicest, softest flannel I have ever felt. Plus the puppies are adorable. So, for $4 pants, doll pants, and pillowcase. Not too bad!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

6 responses »

  1. Nicely done with the organizing! It’s so much easier to get inspiration when you can see all your materials, isn’t it?

    Does your Wal-mart still carry fabric? Ours just underwent a huge renovation (I think it’s now technically a super Wal-mart) and their so-called “Sewing and Crafts” department is just one aisle, with no fabric and a very meager selection of yarn and general craft stuff.

    Reply
    • They just built a Wal-Mart about 10 minutes away from us and I thought “well, it’s only redeeming value will be finally being able to buy sewing supplies and fabrics” but guess what? Just like you said it has no fabric and just one small craft aisle. There is one about a half hour away with a very large fabric/craft section.

      Reply
      • Bummer! We have two Joann Etcs nearby (and of course Karl works at Hobby Lobby), so I have plenty of options, but I hate to see any place that offers fabric stop. I know in a lot of places, Wal-mart was the only option!

  2. I totally do not get why there is no JoAnns around here. There is a shocking fabric void here, except for Fabricland which is 1/2 hour away and has lovely things, but not much in the way of inexpensive things. Their trims are out of this world, though. That is awesome that Karl works at Hobby Lobby. Do you celebrate Christmas? Because I imagine he could stuff your stocking with lots of cool things.

    Reply
    • It’s so sad that there are so many places with so few fabric options. I know in my hometown (where my parents still live – my mom’s a sewer) Wal-mart is their only option unless they want to drive an hour. We do celebrate xmas, and an added bonus is that K gets 15% off at the Lob!

      Reply
      • It’s surprising given that there is such a resurgence in home sewing and crafting and so on. I’ve been happy with the online shopping I’ve done at Fabric.com and Joanns.com, but it’s still nice to touch stuff in person before buying. That’s also why I stock up when I see stuff I like!

Leave a Reply

