RSS Feed

Market Skirt in Denim

Posted on

001

For some time now I’ve wanted to make a basic tiered skirt for Tabby.  It seemed like the sort of thing you’d hardly need a pattern for, but I just wasn’t quite sure how to begin (shape of pieces, size, etc.)  Then, I came across this free tutorial and it was exactly what I was looking for: The Market Skirt by Dana Made It.  She shows this as a nice lightweight spring and summer skirt, perfect in gingham or seersucker.  Since it’s fall I thought I would make it out of denim.  I’m quite pleased with how it turned out! One thing I will do differently when I make it again is make it longer.  I shortened one of the pieces by 2 inches because she suggested her pattern would yield a 2T-3T size, but I think I would have been more pleased with it being as long as the one she made. I might also choose to make it slightly narrower. I put a little ribbon tag on the side, and felt I showed considerable restraint with regard to embellishment.  I can’t wait to make this again and embellish away with embroidery, applique, buttons, corduroy flowers, etc. Also looking forward to using other fabrics and combos. This can definitely be an easy go-to skirt for a few years for her.

Look how swishy!

008

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

