RSS Feed

Thanksgiving Dress

Posted on

I am perhaps more pleased with the garment than any other I have made so far.  I bought the paisley fabric back in August with the idea that it would be used for some sort of fall item for Tabby.  Then, a couple months later, I bought the polka dot corduroy to coordinate with it.  I looked through the patterns I had and decided on a jumper that I could easily use two separate fabrics for.  Then I bought some lovely brown velvet ribbon, and then I finally got to work.

001

I love the way the fabrics look together, and am pleased that all my corduroy goes in the right direction and it is extremely soft when you pet it.  It looked nice before the ribbon, but I think the ribbon suddenly really made it look special.  I’m planning on having her wear this  on Thanksgiving with a brown turtleneck and tights, but here she is just trying it on over other clothes.

006

003

This pattern was very easy to follow and although I was all anxious about doing a zipper, it turned out not to be hard at all. I was a slacker on the photographs so I don’t have a good pic showing the zipper.  Further evidence that the pattern (Ottobre) I used for the my very first sewing project was a very difficult one for a beginner.  I wish I had used a brown bias tape for the armholes and hope when she wears it you won’t be seeing the peek of white.  Overall I think it adorable and it got the highest praise from Jen: “Looks boutique, not homemade”. Can’t ask for more than that!!

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. This is gorgeous! Seriously, it does look boutique! You did such a great job pairing the fabrics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

