RSS Feed

Patchwork Christmas Apron

Posted on

(First, don’t mind the mess all about me in this picture. It’s only when I look at it with another viewer’s eyes that I realize there is a cookie rack, alphabet magnet, plate, train crossing, and a bunch of other toys visible! Pretend I’m modeling against some pristine background. Oh, and that I’m a model.)

I’m on an apron roll. I didn’t know if I was making this for myself or someone else, but now that I’m done I will probably keep it because I’m so pleased.  I’m pleased with this apron because I mostly made it up myself! I intended to make a patchwork border of a plain rectangular half apron (see Psychedelic Squares).  First I made the patchwork out of 3 1/2 inch squares I cut out of a variety of very traditionally color schemed Christmas fabrics I had leftover from when I made us all stockings. I intentionally made the two rows not line up (which is something I saw on another A is for Apron pattern and was quite taken with.)  Then I went to the store to look for a plain fabric for the top. I couldn’t quite think what would look right, but when I saw this dark red ticking fabric I knew it was perfect. I bought one yard of it.  Basically I folded it in half to get a nice size rectangle to put on top of the patchwork.  I stitched those together and had a nice plain rectangle.  But, since the bottom patchwork had lots of seams I then cut a piece of red fabric and attached that to the bottom, folded and pressed it behind and stitched to conceal all seams.  I left about a 1/4 inch of red peeking out at the bottom of the patchwork as a nice trim.

On to the waistband and ties.  I used the pattern pieces from Psychedelic Squares and then folded and pressed and topstitched and came out with a very nice plain waistband and long ties to wrap around the front.  I was exceptionally pleased that the stripes of the waistband lined up with the skirt piece so well that it actually looks like it’s one piece instead of two!

At this point I tried it on and it was a nice long half skirt. (I hadn’t actually stitched on my ties yet.)  I took the extra piece of fabric I had, held it up to my top, and thought a-ha! This needs to be a full body apron! So I set about making a top.  The piece I had (folded) was the right width, so I stitched up the sides so that again, all seams were hidden, the back of the apron is nice and smooth, and topstitching will prevent sliding of any inside bits during washing.  Again, thestripes lined up perfectly!!

This morning I decided that it might look good with a small embellishment on the top and I cut out a Christmas tree bit of some of the fabric.  Well, it looked great, so I appliqued it on by using a zigzag stitch.  I think it came out great.  What kind of straps to do on the top? I cut strips of the little bit of fabric remaining on the bias and made two tubes. I pinned them in various places and ultimately sewed them in just straight into the corners. I liked having a wide top, so I didn’t want to change the neckline of it.  After all, I’ll be whipping up bowls full of flour and sugar and eggs into dozens of Christmas cookies in this, and will need lots of coverage!

Overall, I’m very pleased and it was a lot of fun to be able to make things up as I went along.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. Whoa, it looks awesome! That’s so cool that you made it up as you went along! Let the Christmas baking season begin!

    Reply
  2. You have become the apron master! I love them all, and this one is especially festive! (Oh, and I love the clutter in the picture. It’s like your kitchen is smizing.)

    Reply
  3. Nicely done! It is so satisfying to improvise, isn’t it?

    Reply
  4. your aprons are so adorable, they almost make me want to cook!

    Reply
  5. Thank you everyone! I’ve got a couple more lined up to make. I’m having so much fun with them, and this one was really fun since I mostly made it up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

