RSS Feed

Happy Thanksgiving!

Posted on

We had a very special Thanksgiving this year as both my brothers and their families joined us. They live in Colorado and Vermont and we’re not often all together at the same time-last time was two years ago! The Vermont brother brought the turkey, which he had won in a silent raffle. It was a 22lb. free range had a happy life turkey. It was huge! On Thursday morning I was concerned that I hadn’t planned enough side dishes, but as usual I was absurd. We had so many leftovers it’s just ridiculous.  The menu:

 

Appetizers: Orange Curried Pecans (from Party Nuts, of course), bacon wrapped dates (they were such a hit last year), mixed olives (I hate olives, but somehow thought everyone else would love them, plus I have a cute olive dish), and stuffed mushrooms (my brother made these and they were delicious. He says it’s because the secret ingredient was a slice of Taylor ham ground up.)

Main Course: The roast turkey, prepared with sage leaves placed under the skin, thyme, garlic, salt and pepper; Brussels Sprouts with Pecans; Cranberry Sauce (made from this November’s Food and Wine-made with a Fuji apple and in a loaf pan); Mashed Potatoes; Gravy (for some reason I made it very thick and then all night long wondered why I’d done that. For leftovers I thinned it out and it was great.); Corn Pudding (quite possibly my favorite thing); Stuffing (our traditional stuffing is celery, onion, and Arnold’s cubed stuffing); Sweet Spinach Salad (I also made this for Tabby’s party, it was delicious.)

Desserts: Apple Pie and Pumpkin Pie, made by my brother; Cranberry Walnut Tart with ginger whipped cream.

Everything was delicious and we were all very full and happy.  It was great to be all together and of course I made us pose for some group photographs. I am truly thankful every day for Paul, Clark, and Tabitha and the many blessings we all enjoy.

Oh, and of course I have to mention Tabby’s dress, which had its debut.  I think it looked great and she was comfortable in it.  I’m really pleased with it!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Cute pictures! You had a healthy looking plate as well 🙂

    Reply
  2. Happy Thanksgiving! What a great looking family! And what great looking dishes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

