RSS Feed

She’s Crafty

Posted on

Last night I had a little craft party for a few of my girlfriends.  I thought it would be fun to get together and make ornaments (or really, whatever anyone wanted to work on.) I put all my supplies out on the table, they brought things too, and we had some nice grown up time being crafty and creative together.  People probably do this all the time, but as much as I love making things, this is the first time we’ve done this (well, Jen and I have sewed together, and ML and I have decoupaged together, but we made this an event, complete with wine and hors d’ouvres for dinner.)

Everyone’s projects came out great!!

Mary Lynn made her wreath by glittering tiny pine cones and wrapping wide ribbon around it.  She had the most magnificent Martha Stewart glitter set.  We all agreed that just seeing the little vials all lined up in the box was satisfying, even if one never even opened them!

Jen decoupaged blown eggs (our own hens’ eggs, I might add!) with pictures cut from Christmas napkins.  I think these look quite spectacular.

I also decoupaged on a clear glass ball.

And painted a ball as well, but it was really too delicate a design and is not showing up on the tree very well.

Still working on my felt trees.

And finished a sequined foam ball.  It’s like a big gaudy disco ball. But I love it.

Melissa, on the other hand, made the most elegant sequined item by gluing rows of same colored sequins on a clear glass ball.

Christmas is 9 days away.  I still have Tabby’s snowflake dress to make, as well as two gift sewing projects to make. (Plus a batch of candy for Clark’s teachers.)  I’m confident I can do it!!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. What a great idea for a get-together! You guys are so cool! Also, I really love the glittery sequin disco ball.

    Reply
  2. I second what Pookie said. It looks like a great time AND a productive time (and I love the disco ball)!

    Reply
  3. Thank you! I would like to try and do another one with ribbons and sequins. Like a gaudy Victorian thing.

    Reply
  4. Ribbons would be a GREAT gaudy addition!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

