RSS Feed

Chicken Casserole

Posted on

Recently I got it in my head that I would make this countertop recipe book as a way of preserving the recipes that I recall from growing up.  Actually, I knew I was not in danger of not having them, but thought it would be nice to put this together for my brothers.  I don’t know if they’d ever use it, but I’m all about preserving family history, so there you go.  I gathered up the recipes I wanted and they are a buttery walk down memory lane.  Because there will be pictures in the book I obviously need to go ahead and make most of these and photograph the results before  I can make the book.  First up, a chicken casserole I loved. White rice, crunchy celery, chicken, and a buttery cornflake topping.  When I read the recipe I was surprised to find that it only called for 2 cups of cooked rice.  Really? We were a family of five and I doubt 2 c of rice would be enough.  I immediately added more rice.  Also, sadly, celery was inadvertently not purchased at the store, so I had to omit it.  Although I am not a celery lover, I do feel it belongs in this recipe.  And I couldn’t bear to use the full amount of melted butter on top.

So did it live up to the memory? Yes. A hearty, somewhat bland comfort food.  I had kind of forgotten that it was pretty bland (though I remembered it being much whiter than my version turned out to be), but when eating it didn’t mind.  You definitely need to salt it, though. (So, salt, butter, cream of chicken soup….ahhh 1960s? 70s?)

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

Leave a Reply

