RSS Feed

Made by…Me!

Posted on

Yesterday I made another dress for Tabitha.  I’m realizing she doesn’t really need all these clothes and needs to start wearing the things I have made her more often, but I’m not too concerned because it really does give me pleasure. This is a little jumper, very simple pattern.  That said I did have a few troubles with it.  The lining is a bit bunch I think, and I’m not sure why.  I chose to bind the edge of it in pink bias tape because I didn’t care for the pattern’s step, which was to finish the edge and just press it under.  I also did not add interfacing to it and, for the first time, used a different fabric for the lining. I am pleased with the way it looks.

Buttonholes.  I had a lot of trouble with this, even though my machine has an automatic buttonhole maker.  After looking online I realized the critical step I had been missing, properly adjusted my machine, and it worked just fine.  I really do love the look of this and think it’s a good basic dress to have in my arsenal.  You could endlessly do different embellishments, applique, embroidery, buttons, etc. to it. How cute would it be in the summer in a nice gingham?

Best of all, though, is that I used my new labels!!

(Full length picture to come after I finish the hem.  Halfway through the hem something wonky happened with my bobbin and I haven’t been able to fix it yet!)

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

