RSS Feed

Happy National Pie Day!

Posted on

Yesterday was National Pie Day and we attended an annual party at our friends’ house.  Everyone brings a pie of their choice and the spread is amazing. I have yet to leave not uncomfortably full (which probably speaks more to my inability to restrain myself than to the number of pies.) It always starts off with the savory pies-crazy variations on pizza pie, followed by the dessert pies.  This year there were:

a Cuban pie-pizza dough topped with chopped ham, pickles, mustard, etc.  I want to like Cuban sandwiches, but never really do, but surprisingly I liked this pizza ever so much better than the sandwich!

Sausage pie-Tony says he wants to retire making this pie, but no one will let him.  It is a deep dish crust filled with sausage and tomato sauce

Plain pizza

Plain pizza with chicken

Bar Floor Pie-pizza dough with hot wings sauce, chicken, french fries

Native American Meat Pies-a small hand pie with spicy meat filling

Meatini-a giant meat thing (like a meatloaf) with martini in it and potatoes and cheese on top.  Apparently named after some diner some of the guys had been to where they saw people ordering meatloaf and martinis at 9:30 in the morning.

Spinach pies-delicious phyllo triangles with spinach and cheese filling

Baked Brie En Croute with Rosemary and Walnuts-the rosemary was a fantastic addition and I will try this next time I bake brie

Red Velvet Whoopie Pies-delicious tangy filling

Apple Pie-a very delicious, cinnamony pie. Clark loved it!

Cherry Pie-sadly, I did not taste this, but it was very pretty

Ginger Streusel Pumpkin Pie-this is what I made and is it wrong to say it was my favorite? I will definitely be making this again.  I had some troubles during the making of it, but it was really just because I should have used my deeper pie dish. This reminded me so much of the ginger streusel squares that were my favorite of the Christmas season that it’s no wonder I liked it. I don’t have a good picture of a slice, but here is the top, uncut.

Whipped Cream Chocolate Pie-I don’t know the name for this, but that is essentially what it was. It was fantastic.

All in all, a very fun pie day!

Oh, and check out this drink called “Root” that people were doing shots of. The smell was fantastic-an intense root beer scent-but a teeny sip of it made me feel like my chest was on fire.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

