RSS Feed

Mud and Pies, but not mud pies

Posted on

I am not a big fan of unseasonably warm weather. I think it’s weird and it messes with my head.  January and we’re outside without coats on? Playing in mud? What gives? To further mess with me, these adorable robins were using our pond as a drinking fountain. They did not have the plumpness of spring robins, though.

They were very thirsty!

In the morning we played in the rain…

And in the afternoon we played in the mud…

I also took some nice pics of the kids posed in front of the shed. And even made myself do a self portrait.  I envioned framing them three in a row for Paul.  So here we are:

The sun did come out on the rainy day and the bedraggled hens lined themselves up in front of the garage to bask and preen.  The look they are being punished, as they are all facing the wall.  That ended up being the choice for our 365 project.

By the way, I mentioned that the homemade marshmallows are fantastic for roasting. I made another batch and the night before it was so crazy warm we had a cozy fire.  See how nicely they toast up?

On Pie Day I inadvertently made a double crust, even though pumpkin pie just needs a single.  What to do with spare pie crust? The next day I was wondering what to do-we had eggs for breakfast so quiche would be overload, didn’t have any good apples, and didn’t want to spend a long time making a filling. A-ha!  I remembered the apples with dried cherries that I’d canned back in the fall.  One of the reasons I was drawn to that recipe in the first place was that the Ball canning book showed a lovely “rustic galette” made with the product.  I went down to the basement and fetched one of the jars.  I was a little apprehensive because we hadn’t eaten any yet and about an inch of the liquid had evaporated. Was it still safe? When I opened it there was a strong vacuum seal, the scent was delicious and cinammony, and no one ended up with botulism, so I guess it was ok.  I rolled out my pie crust, dumped the jar into the middle, folded in the edges, sprinkled the crust with coarse sugar and baked.  I felt so pioneer womany to be using my canned stuff to make a quick and delicious dessert! It turned out fantastic and didn’t take long to bake, since the fruit was alreadycooked.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. The pie sounds delicious.I would love to make those marshmallows but then I can’t decide what I would do with them. Your toasted ones do look delicious though…. maybe I should MOM

    Reply

Leave a Reply

