RSS Feed

Bluebird Apron of Happiness

Posted on

I think this is my favorite and best apron yet.  First, the fabric.  I bought this fabric about four years ago thinking it was just so beautiful and would make a lovely full length apron.  I adore bluebirds and thought it was charming. At the same time I bought cool pink and orange spirograph fabric and an apron pattern.  Well,  I had such a hard time with that first pattern that I promptly gave up on sewing.  Now, here it is four years later and I’ve got some experience and that beautiful fabric just kept calling me out every time I saw it.  Reading through the apron instructions I couldn’t believe that four years ago I didn’t understand any of it!

This pattern was shown with contrasting fabrics, but I thought that using all bird fabric with the contrast would be just fine.  I could not be more pleased with how that turned out.  Also, I cut the center panel specifically so that the birds would be very visible and centered.

My dressform is so curvy and shapely that I think this looks spectacular on her. In fact, a friend commented that it would make a good dress. And wouldn’t it? If you continued all around (but kept the length uniform) and fitted it with a zipper? Basically the apron is panels sewn together with wrong sides together, then the resulting seam edge is incased in 1/4 wide bias binding. you just keep adding them on.

And here it is, finished with straps ( I wish I could have left it strapless, but it didn’t quite stay up):

And in other news, it’s snowing a lot, and we got a cat!

Any suggestions for getting our dog to welcome her without terrifying her are welcome!!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. LOVE this apron! The fabric, the design, how beautifully you put it together – all awesome!

    Reply
  2. it does look like it would make a beautiful dress!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

