RSS Feed

New Kitty + Snow=Awesome Days

Posted on

Tuesday we got a new kitten, Wednesday was a blizzard, Thursday was bright and sunny and roads were clear, and today is Paul’s third day off in a row.  Lots of excitement in our house.  Surprisingly no sewing projects during this time, or even spectacular cooking (though I did bake scones for a blizzard day breakfast.) Pretty much playing with the kitten, supervising the kids with the kitten, putting on all our snow gear, and playing in the snow has taken up most of these lovely days. A few choice photos of the last couple days:

Our snow people (made on Wednesday, halfway through the snow, completely covered by more snow by the next day.)

Liesl Echo snuggles with us in the sun.  She is a delightful little kitty and is adjusting very nicely to our rowdy family.

Observing the snow and the birds at the feeder (we’ve all been enjoying the birdwatching these snowy days-lots of activity at the feeders):

Getting out in the snow:

Pippin relaxing in the curve of the “snow serpent” we made.

Clark always looks great in the snow-blue eyes, bright smile, vivid hat, rosy cheeks. Poor Tabitha always looks unhappy and thus, far fewer cute pictures of her in the snow. But here is a cute one of each of them:

A not great picture of me, but a great picture of Pippin’s tongue:

After frolicking in the snow we went out to lunch to a funky little cafe in a nearby town.  Sadly, I feel their menu does not live up to the charm of the place, but we had a very nice time anyway.  They have many many salt and pepper shakers all over the place, so it’s like being in a kitschy vintage shop.  I was amused by this one:

And speaking of interesting things, today we were at the Amish market and I took this picture in the candy section:

It is safe to say that many of the pictures in this post were the “runners up” from The Fairview this week! Oh, and no pictures of the chickens in the snow because they really didn’t get out.  I shoveled a tiny bit for them so they could get down and go under their coop, which they enjoyed very much.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. I hope you plan to post again soon – I need my urban homestead fix! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’m working on two right now!!

    Reply
  3. The cafe you guys ate at….was it The Shaker Cafe in Flemington? I’ve got take out from there twice, once I got a tuna salad sandwich with bacon. They used thick smokey bacon slice and it was awwwwweeesome! Sadly, next time I went back they used regular bacon and under-cooked it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

