RSS Feed

One Yard Wonders: Jewelry Roll

Posted on

It was time to try another project and since I’m working on zippers I decided to try the jewelry roll.  I figured if it turned out well this could be a nice gift project.  I am exceptionally pleased with the fabrics/colors/ribbons I chose and think it is overall very nice looking.

When I make this again, though, I might change/improve a couple of things.  First, I didn’t line up my pieces or the zipper or something quite correctly so that on one of the pockets when the zipper was closed there was still a little opening.  Since you wouldn’t want your earrings to fall out I hand sewed that closed.

Also, I would not use as much interfacing as they called for next time as I think it made it a little too stiff (even though I used lightweight.) This was kind of an odd project for me to choose because I actually have a really nice jewelery roll Paul gave me for our anniversary a couple years ago (the “leather” anniversary) and don’t need another.  But I was thinking that this would be nice for storing lots of different things when traveling-hair clips, bandaids, etc.

Now that I’ve got this down I also might make changes to suit my own needs more, such as smaller ring placket, or smaller overall size, or even a third pocket.

I’ve got a lot of sewing planned for the spring/summer.  I finally bought a beautiful voile fabric that I want to make a top out of it, and some cool Ikea fabric that will be a top or skirt.  I have a dress pattern that seems a little intimidating, but I am eager to try it.  And then, yesterday I was directed to Fabritopia and simply had to buy a selection of beautiful things, projects for them to be determined at a later date.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. This is lovely! I agree that it would be handy to have a couple of these rolls for various needs while traveling. I haven’t gotten my hands on a copy of One Yard Wonders yet, but I am on hold for it at the ‘brary. This pear fabric is delightful! Where did you find it?

    Reply
    • I got it about a year ago at Jo-Ann’s. So far I’ve made an apron out of it, my friend used some to make a zippered pouch, I’ve used a scrap in at least one baby ball, and then this! Got my money’s worth, I’d say!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

