RSS Feed

Sign of Spring!

Posted on

There is still snow on the ground, but sunny skies have melted quite a bit of it.  It’s as if the moment the calendar turned to March the wind started blowing and the sun started shining.  The melting snow and scratching chickens revealed…

Here’s a snowy pic, but it’s one I’ve wanted to take all winter.  I feel so lucky that our neighbors have horses. They are just beautiful to see walking around the fields.

I’ve had two sewing crises this past week. The first occurred when I washed the quilt I made for Tabitha.  I must have had miniscule seam allowances because a few big seams completely came apart.  I was so distraught I had to fold it up and not even look closely.  A few days later I took a closer look and the good news is that the open seams are shorter than I thought, but the bad news is that the only way to fix it is going to be a lot of hand sewing and the end result will probably not be super pretty.  The second crisis has to do with my beautiful bluebird apron.  I put it to good use this weekend making pizza dough and lots of delicious homemade pizzas.  I noticed this morning that a few of the corners the fabric are coming out of the 1/4″ bias binding.  I should be able to fix that fairly easily before washing it.

Tonight I made a soup for dinner and am feeling especially housewifely pleased with the cheese bread I made to go with it.  The recipe called for rising the dough twice and then another rise in the form, but I just let it rise once, twisted two ropes of dough together, and then let it rise in the pan for 1/2 hour before baking.  There is nothing quite like fresh homemade bread fresh from the oven. Mmmmm

Last week I also made hot pretzels.  That’s quite a few yeasty items made this week and I’ve really enjoyed it.  I shall definitely try to do so more often.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

