RSS Feed

Happy Birthday, Mom!

Posted on

My mom’s birthday was almost two weeks ago at this point and I didn’t write a thing about it! Not only that, but I also forgot to take a photo of the lovely jewelry roll I made her.  I’ll have to describe that it was made with navy blue fabric, a hot pink lining, and pink ribbons.  She was very pleased with it.  For her birthday dinner I made a pork loin stuffed with figs and apricots, which was a very simple and super delicious filling.  I’ll definitely be making it again.

The big question when planning a birthday dinner is what kind of cake? For a spring birthday I went with lemon.  I made a white cake (from a mix!) and then made a lemon filling, which was basically lemon curd and then I added whipped cream.  Since curd is made from egg yolks, and our hens lay very richly colored eggs, check out the intense yellow of this lemon filling.  It looks so artificial, but it’s not! It is only egg yolk, sugar, fresh lemon juice.

I had pictured this cake as being beautifully white, fully frosted with a bright lemon surprise inside.  Well, the filling oozed right out between the layers and there was no way I could frost the sides.  Oh, and my frosting was a cream cheese frosting, which I thought complemented the tart lemon very well.  So I just frosted the top (and I candied some lemon slices for a garnish), dealt with the ooze as best I could and then when we served it even served some extra curd and whipped cream on top. It was quite heavenly.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

