RSS Feed

Serenity Now…

Posted on

What a lovely weekend we had–well, with the exception of two nights of mysterious vomiting, kids in our bed, and Clark suffering from a reaction to the sun that was just terrible.  But that aside, we welcome spring by planting herb seeds, flower seeds, and taking a walk around the yard to figure out just what exactly we’re doing this year. Yes, some people use wintertime for that, but we’re a little slow. We reseeded some large sections of our lawn that had turned to bizarre dirt patches.  The chickens tried their best to eat up all the grass seed but we thwarted by laying down hay laced netting.  Being out, working in the sunshine was just wonderful and over the course of Saturday we literally saw two daffodils bloom.

Check out these wild looking seeds. They are for an Egyptian pea vine.  I bought a packaged “mailbox garden” that is four different kinds of seeds.  Here’s hoping that by midsummer our mailbox post will be wrapped up in and surrounded by beautiful flowers.

The crocuses are still lovely (though there are not as many as last year-unclear if they are just not up yet, or if they were eaten or dug up or something.)  Clark has recently really started to do representative drawing and he walked around the yard with his lunchbox of crayons and a notebook.  I looked over and saw him lying in the grass by a crocus, and this is what he was up to:

That was Saturday.  On Sunday the weather was still fine and we decided to finally go ahead and try out Clark and me in the canoe.  Clark was really excited about it, but when the moment came to get in the canoe he was quite scared.  He did get in and I paddled him about 20 or 30 yards before pulling over.  I can see how that would have been very scary for him and I’m proud of him for trying.  Tabitha immediately wanted to try too.  Since she can’t be trusted to not stand up or lean over I let her get in an an area that is practically a 6 inch pool with no current. She was quite happy with that.  And then… after six years here I finally went canoeing on our river.  It was wonderful.  Paul took the kids and the car to meet me at an area we thought I’d be able to recognize from the river and off I went.  It was so peaceful-I didn’t see another person except when I passed under the bridges.  I saw a red winged blackbird, several interesting black and white ducks, and heard lots and lots of peepers (spring!).  I’ve canoed lots, but never so far by myself.  I can’t wait to do it again!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Pingback: In the Garden, In the Kitchen « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

