RSS Feed

My Talented Friends

Posted on

For Paul’s birthday I had what I thought was a very inspired idea for a gift: moo cards with his blog url’s on them!  Paul has recently added two new ones that I want to mention.  The first is Beautiful New Jersey, which features a photo a day of beautiful sights from our lovely state.  Yes, it is specifically meant to show all the people who’ve never been to NJ except Newark Airport that our state has many beautiful areas. His other new blog comes from a Christmas present I gave him-a Bamboo pad, which is something to use with your computer for drawing.  He is learning to use it and has challenged himself to do a drawing every day with it.  It is called A Daily Doodle.

For my birthday my friend Melissa made this beautiful watercolor card for me:

Do you recognize it? It’s my dressmaker form wearing an apron!! I was so touched by this. She also gave me this awesome Japanese tape, which I’m going to use to put around the edge of the card to make a frame, and then hang it over my sewing table.

The third person I want to mention is my extremely talented friend, Vicky.  She recently started a blog all about native plant gardening, and has also just launched a site and shop  for her artwork, which is botanical illustration. Check out Botanicals by Vicky to see her portfolio.

There is nothing quite like creating something by yourself. Why not try your hand at a little sketching, painting, embroidery, photography, cake decorating, mosaic designing,…. the list goes on and on!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. That watercolor card is fabulous! Way to go, Melissa! I think hanging it over your sewing table is such a great idea!

    Vicky’s artwork is so cool. I really love the sunflower she has up on her site right now.

    And Paul is quickly becoming master of blogs! 😀 I love Beautiful New Jersey. I keep telling people, “It’s called the garden state for a reason!”

    Reply
  2. Pookie, if you have any great NJ photos (if, ha!) send them along. I’ll happily expand my photoset

    Reply
  3. This is all just SO cool! I have been trying to notice my surroundings more lately (instead of blindly hurrying through everything) and one theme that has emerged is that so many people are creating so much neat stuff every day. It is so inspiring!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

