RSS Feed

Glass Fusing

Posted on

A couple of weeks ago a few friends and I had a “ladies night out” (that’s what they call it, I would just call it “private party”) at a paint your own pottery/glass fusing art studio in a nearby town. It’s a small place and it was great that for just $5 a person, as long as you have at least 5 people, they will open up at night just for your group. And you can bring food and drinks, so it’s an  instant party.

We all decided to do glass fusing, which involves arranging little broken bits of glass into whatever arrangement you want on top of another clear piece of glass.  It gets cooked in a kiln, the little pieces end up softened and rounded looking, and voila!  There were lots of different types of projects you could do and I chose a 6 inch square suncatcher.  Here is what my work looked like before going in the kiln:

And here is what it looked like when I picked it up today:

I’m so pleased with it and can’t wait to make more!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. WOW! That is seriously SO cool. Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

