RSS Feed

An Enormous Egg

Posted on

When I was a kid one of my favorite books was The Enormous Egg, by Oliver Butterworth. It’s about a boy named Nate who goes out one morning to see his chickens and discovers that one has laid an enormous egg.  The hen seems perplexed but duly sits on it (well past the 3 weeks it takes a chicken egg to hatch) and eventually out hatches…a triceratops! It’s a delightful story and if you have kids and haven’t read it I suggest you go to the library and check it out.  This morning I went out to the chicken coop and found this monstrous egg in the coop:

It’s really so hard to convey just how big that is, but consider that I have a regular sized woman’s hand and this egg is taking up most of it. Here it is next to two other eggs.

The one on the right is a fairly large egg.  I weighed it and it was just over four ounces.  A “jumbo” egg is anything over 2.5 ounces and this was considerably more than that.  I actually considered it might be a triple yolk egg, but it was just a double yolker   I made brownies with it.

Big garden news today-some peas were ready for eating! I suppose they’ll be even better in a few days, but I just couldn’t resist trying them.  They were quite sweet and tasty.  The kids (and their friends, who were over) loved them.

I forget the name of this plant, but am just thrilled with how well it’s doing this year:

I am so close to being done with a baby quilt, but I don’t want to post about it until it all done. Suffice it to say I had to take out some embroidery stitches last night.  And I’m so amused that everything I’ve heard about quilts and cats is true. Liesl can’t seem to keep off of it. I keep finding her dozing on top of it.  I hope the baby finds it to be as soporific as she does!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Wow! Congratulations!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

