RSS Feed

A Few Things We’ve Been Up To

Posted on

Last week Clark and I went canoeing with our friends Renee and Isabella.  (The week before Renee and I took it out for its inaugural paddle, which was fantastic.  We are so lucky to live near this beautiful river.  We ended our paddle by having the husbands and kids meet us by the bridge in town and all went swimming in the river.) It was the kids’ first time and they just loved it.  I think it was very exciting for them to have that different viewpoint of seeing nature and wildlife from the water.  For example, we saw a deer cross the river in front of us, and we saw a few other deer drinking from the water’s edge.

We also saw a great blue heron a few times swooping along in front of us.  We saw many red winged blackbirds, but the most exciting (for me) bird sighting was a Baltimore Oriole (I’ve only ever seen one once before.)  We stopped to picnic and swim in the river and it was wonderful.

During the week we went to my mom’s for a little visit and decided to go to The Raptor Trust, which is in the Great Swamp.  This is a beautiful area that we enjoyed often when I was kid and where we used to go canoeing.  We had a lovely little nature hike by the environmental center and enjoyed seeing beautiful birds of prey (which I really can’t get good pictures of because of the netting behind the wire fencing.)

In the fields behind our house they have started baling the hay this week. They seem to do it early in the morning and early in the evening, which makes it very picturesque because of the light and also because is there anything more lovely than sitting at the breakfast table looking out our window and watching the tractor in the fields?  Tonight after dinner we walked to the end of the road to get a really good view of the hay rows and the tractor.

We just loved watching the hay bales soar through the air into the waiting wagon.  And a couple more lovely pictures from the walk home:

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. Do you know what that purple flower with the yellow center is? I think I have the same thing growing in my garden!

    Reply
    • I don’t know, unfortunately. Isn’t it neat looking??

      Reply
      • I think I’ve actually identified it – looks like Bittersweet (Solanum dulcamara). It’s an invasive species here in my area, and apparently all parts of the plant are poisonous! I’ve never seen it before this year but birds spread it, so I’m sure that’s where my volunteers are coming from. Anyway, the blossoms are pretty!

Leave a Reply

