RSS Feed

Vanilla Nutella Swirl Ice Cream

Posted on

Recently I introduced the kids to the deliciousness that is Nutella, via Nutella-peanut butter sandwiches.  A friend and I were talking about how much we liked it and all the things you could put it on and I thought, “mm…ice cream.”  So today I made homemade ice cream and it was a fabulously inspired concoction if I say so myself–vanilla ice cream with toasted hazelnuts and Nutella.  I followed a recipe for vanilla ice cream that had a custard base (so, made with eggs and cooked) and then I toasted and chopped hazelnuts and added them in right before I took it out of the ice cream maker. I also took a few spoonfuls of Nutella and tried to let that swirl in.  Actually, it sort of blobbed up. No matter, it was all absolutely delicious with a very good and noticeable hazelnut flavor.

And it more than passed muster with the kids:

I think this would be especially delicious with hot fudge on top!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

