RSS Feed

Good Morning, Sunshine!

Posted on

I started these placemats literally years ago. I had bought this gorgeous oilcloth and wanted to make placemats with gingham binding. I had really just started sewing and didn’t really know how to make my own and searched online and finally bought some very nice Michael Miller gingham binding. Going through my fabric stash yesterday I discovered that I had only made one placemat. Why not the other three? No idea, but really what could be easier than sewing together two pieces of something? So this morning I finally finished. And after all that gingham binding hunting I only had enough for two and had to use some other stuff for two of them.

Corners on these are not great, but who cares?

You can’t help but smile when you eat off of these, and it makes me feel like I’m in Florida on a sunny porch having some fresh squeezed orange juice.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. These really came out nicely. They do make you smile.

    Reply
  2. The bias tape edging is brilliant! I made oilcloth placemats a few months ago and the darn things drove my poor sewing machine crazy. I just folded over the edges and sewed hems all around, but the oilcloth didn’t move nicely through my machine. It was a very frustrating process. Some regular fabric on the edges would have worked much better – I’m keeping that in mind for next time!

    Reply
  3. Thanks Lisa! I had an astonishingly difficult time cutting my pieces of oilcloth the same size-bias tape does a lovely job of hiding that as well. By the way, the first two I made had square corners, but I found it a pain to make the tape work, so the second two I had rounded corners.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: In the Sewing Room « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

