RSS Feed

Sunday Sewing

Posted on

I finished a terrific project yesterday, but it’s a gift for one of the very few people who read this blog, so I dare not write about it yet! This morning I “whipped up” this lovely market skirt.  Whipped up gets quotation marks because this is a seemingly fast and simple item to make, but took a surprising amount of time. I did take the time to finish the seams, so perhaps that was some of the time.

I’ve made this pattern once before, and it’s from a tutorial at Dana Made It. Basically it’s three rectangles sewed together with some gathers and an elastic waist. The sort of thing you could make up on your own, but someone else has already helpfully figured and shared good dimensions! That said, I think next time I might change my dimensions a bit.  The top piece is meant to be the waistband but with a four inch section of fabric and one inch elastic that seemed silly. I ended up sewing the elastic into the top part of it and then having another tier automatically made. I also made the waistband too big and had to resew the elastic.  Apparently she has a small waist and I ought to make a note of it because all her shorts are a little too big also.

I was tempted to add pockets and all manner of embellishments, but I thought the little ribbon was enough. (Unfortunately, you can see in this photo that one seam didn’t quite line up. Oh well)

The most interesting thing about this skirt is that when I went to make the hem I pressed up a tiny hem and then decided that to fold it over again would ultimately make the bottom tier just too narrow. What to do? A-ha! I dug out a spool of the vintage seam binding I got this spring.

I have no idea if I used it correctly or not, but I like the way it looks. I stitched it very close to the edge, and then again at the other edge of the binding. My thread matched my fabric well so the double line is not especially noticeable, but it’s nice and even so it actually looks quite nice. This was a nice way to finish a hem and not have to use much of the fabric to do so.

She likes it!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

6 responses »

  1. Even better than the skirt is T’s smile!

    Reply
  2. I love catching up with your blog!

    I made a (much rougher) version of a tiered skirt like that a couple of years ago out of T-shirts, with a drawstring. Ugly as sin (I was really just playing around) but it was the most comfortable skirt you can possibly imagine.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Getting Crafty « So what? Sew buttons!

  4. Pingback: In the Sewing Room « So what? Sew buttons!

  5. Pingback: Sewing 1, 2, 3: One « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

