RSS Feed

Grilled Salmon with Blackberry Butter

Posted on

I’ve been doing so many sewing posts lately that you might think I’ve given up on cooking fun.  Not so! Last month a friend told me about a great recipe for a blackberry butter sauce to be had with salmon. Since the blackberries were ripening I thought it might be something worth trying.  This afternoon I went and bought some super expensive wild Sockeye Salmon (the adorable old ShopRite fishmonger told me it was worth it and I made the right choice and “your husband will fall in love all over again with you”)

and then I went and picked the ripest berries.

The berries get pureed with lemon juice, pinch salt and pepper, teaspoon crushed garlic, and 1/4 c white wine (which I did not have so I ended up using water.) Sieve them and then heat to boiling. Let it reduce a bit, remove from the heat and stir in butter until it all melts into a nice sauce. Now, this recipe called for 1/2 c blackberries and 3/4 c butter. (that is one and a half sticks.) I used about 3/4 c blackberries and about 3 1/2 Tablespoons butter, and it all came out just fine.

Well, the fishmonger was right. The salmon was delicious and worth it.  The sauce was fantastic and simple. And presumably my husband fell in love with me all over again. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Dawn!

Oh, and Tabby liked the salmon and the sauce, but Clark doesn’t like salmon so I baked him a little tilapia filet. They both sopped up the blackberry butter with bread.

Unrelated, but still about food….It’s that time of year again! Zipping dozens of ears of delicious sweet Jersey corn for the freezer.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. ok so, i am not a fan of salmon, but the fish looks delicious (it goes without saying that the i’d like to simply eat that sauce with a spoon!). how’d you cook the fish?

    Reply
    • I oiled the skin side of the filet and grilled it skin side down (preheated the grill pretty hot). Ten minutes on that side, gently turn it over for another barely 5 minutes. The non skin side I seasoned with salt and pepper and that was it. It was really good. The sauce was so yummy I was wondering what else I’d like to have it on…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

