RSS Feed

Wrapping up the Vacation

Posted on

<gigantic sigh> The vacation is over.  Paul went back to work today.  I have to say it was an action packed 9 days, with trips including museum, zoo, natural wonders, a fair, visits with friends, parties, and the beach.  We’re all pretty tired this morning (as evidenced by it being 10:30 and the kids are taking a bath and I’m still not dressed!) We had been disappointed that on Thursday it was rainy and we didn’t do anything but grocery shopping. Our plan had been that on Thursday and Friday we’d to the 4H Fair and the beach (one on each day.) A friend suggested we do both on Friday, which I thought was nuts, but guess what? We did do that and it was perfect. We went to the fair first thing in the morning and I believe I only have one picture from there because I brought the camera that the battery was almost dead on. Oops. That tragedy was quickly eclipsed by what I can only assume is a dreadful parenthood rite of passage-losing a child in a public place.  In this instance it was Clark, he was well taken care of (thank you Somerset County 4H Fair officials! and a kindly stranger mother), and although it was frightening and felt like longer than it was, it was probably all of 5 minutes.

After leaving the fair we ran home and got our beach things and headed off to our favorite, Ocean Grove.  We got to the beach at 4, which is very late in the day for us. But you know, I had recently read about someone else’s late afternoon trip and thought that it might be good timing. And it was! Arriving at 4 we didn’t have to pay, it wasn’t too crowded, the weather was gorgeous.  There was a double red flag up-no swimming! -because of a currents and riptides.  The waves were astonishing, too-just nonstop foamy breaking white water.  And shallow very very far out. You could go in wading, which some people did, and then the minute the lifeguards left for the day lots of people went in swimming (including Paul.)

I’d specifically wanted to take some portraity pictures of the kids and am very pleased with what we got. It was just the perfect end to our week off.  We finally stopped playing on the beach around 7, had dinner at Nagle’s, and headed home.

The charming farewell from Ocean Grove:

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Isn’t a late afternoon “day” trip the best? You got some great pictures! We’re going to do it again this week, and I really hope my camera doesn’t get all weird on me again – I’m dying for some nice photos!

    Glad your parental rite of passage ended well. That’s a freaky feeling.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

