RSS Feed

Back in Time for Sunday Dinner

Posted on

On Sundays I often like to invite my mom over to join us for dinner and make something nice.  Yesterday I made a dinner that was a childhood favorite. I have had it as an adult a couple of times, but rarely.  I told my brother and he advised me “don’t burn the toast points!”  It is true we often that this with burned tips, but it didn’t diminish from deliciousness of this hearty comfort food casserole that is straight out of the 1950/60s.

Ham and Swiss Casserole: The Recipe

2 c chopped ham (sliced deli ham is fine, or thicker pieces is fine too)

2 c grated Swiss cheese (I used a combo of swiss, provolone, and a tiny bit of smoked Gouda)

1/2 c mayonnaise

1 t mustard

12 slices white bread (I personally believe the only white bread worth using is Arnold’s)

6 eggs

2 1/4 c milk

Toast all the bread.

Mix up the ham, cheese, mayo, mustard.  Evenly divide the mixture among six of the slices and top with the other slices (i.e. make 6 sandwiches) I happened to have small bread so ended up using a couple extra slices.

Cut the sandwiches in half, making them triangles (this is key).  Place the sandwiches point side up in a greased casserole dish. They should fit fairly snugly.  Whip the eggs and milk together ( I seasoned with a bit of pepper) and pour over the dish.

Cover and put in the fridge at least 2 hours.

Pull it out and bake (uncovered) at 350 for 35 minutes.  Well, that’s what Mom’s recipe says, but really you need at least 50 minutes, so from now on that is what I’m saying in the official recipe. A knife inserted should come out fairly clean. And if you’re toast points are burning cover them up with some foil.

Happily this was just as delicious as I remembered. And to complete the dated feel of the menu I made a three bean salad (fresh green beans, kidney beans, and butter beans, thinly sliced red onion, white vinegar, sugar, oil.)

If you are fortunate enough to have leftovers they are fantastic the next day for lunch, which is what I just had 🙂

Bon Appetit!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

