RSS Feed

Bluebird Jewelry Roll and Tote Bag

Posted on

I made four sewing projects this weekend, and two of them were somewhat overdue birthday gifts. You’d think you’d never be late for birthdays since you always have an entire year’s notice, but that’s the way it goes.

Yes, another jewelry roll.  I used the very last of the beautiful bluebird fabric for it.  I did have to piece together the top flap piece, but I think that’s ok.  I really like the contrast fabric I chose, too.

Although this is a simple project it seems like I always make some mistake when making it-but not this time! I hope the recipient likes it.

The other project was a little book bag for my niece.  I had bought her a book and then thought I would give it to her in a bag.  Believe it or not I had trouble finding big enough pieces of fabric in my stash (that weren’t destined for clothes) for this.  I chose denim for the straps and exterior and used two other pieces for the lining.  The start of this whole project was wanting to use an iron on from a little packet my aunt gave me last year.  I love the designs it and finally gave it a go. The image transferred beautifully to some plain ivory cotton.  I then sewed that on top of the outer piece of the bag, framed by grosgrain ribbon.

The whole feel of this bag was very 70s/when I was a kid to me, so I decided to make it more so by appliqueing her initial on the back.

I hope she likes it!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. Sandy Ashlock

    Where did ;you get the beautifl bluebird fabric? Would like to purchase some.

    Reply
    • Unfortunately I bought it several years ago (at Fabricland, a store in North Plainfield, NJ), so I don’t know if you could find it still. I don’t even have any selvedge left which might have helped identify it.. It’s beautiful isn’t it? If I ever see it again I will buy yards more!

      Reply
  2. Sandy Ashlock

    Found out this fabric is Eastern Bluebirds by Henry Smith for Timeless

    Reply
    • Oh thank you! I’ll have to see if I can get some more. I love my apron made out of it, and would love to do more.

      Reply
  3. Sandy Ashlock

    I e-mailed Timesless Treasures and here is the resonse I got:
    We’re sorry but the design you are inquiring about has been discontinued some time ago and is no longer in stock. The name of the designer was actually “Harry” Smith, and the fabric is over 5 years old. To continue to bring you new and exciting designs, unfortunately, we must discontinue some of the older or slower selling prints.
    Thanks for your interest in our prints. Check back monthly for new designs on our website.
    Regards,
    Your Friends at ttfabrics.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

