RSS Feed

Pincushion Caddy

Posted on

I love this pincushion caddy from Seams to Me and have wanted to make one for myself ever since I made my mom one for Christmas. Hmm, apparently I never posted about hers. Here are a couple pictures of it:

I even knew right away that I wanted to make it in prints of white and blue.  Well, I amended that to blue/white/yellow and finally had the perfect collection of scraps and was ready to sew it together.  I swear, cutting out pieces for clothes or other projects is my biggest hurdle in sewing. I cut out the pieces a few weeks ago and then yesterday was able to very quickly put this together.

I can’t imagine how the picture in the book is so unlumpy and the center tube stays round, but I’m happy with mine, bumps and all.

It’s like a cheerful little beach ball, except it is happy to receive pins!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. They both look great! This is such a fabulous project. I’ve made four now, and even though all four times I’ve had to re-sew the wedges twice because they’re always too big, it’s a blast each time! As for the tube staying tube-ish in the picture in the book, maybe it has to do with the interfacing? I used a pretty heavy-duty interfacing (not the kind you’d use to line clothing) on mine and the tube part is just like in the book.

    Reply
    • I did use the heavy duty interfacing, but I think when I stuff it to be able to reach all the way around I tend to squash it. But that’s ok. Just looking at the fabrics together makes me smile.

      Reply
  2. Hm. Maybe using less stuffing would solve the problem? I find the stuffing it on the side opposite the opening is made a lot easier with the long quarter-inch seam marker I have for my quilting. No squashing required! But yeah, you’re right — the fun is in having a little splash of awesome fabrics, not in having some perfect book-worthy specimen! (I rotate the four of mine seasonally [and am planning a Halloween one — it’s going to look like a little pumpkin, squee!!] and every time I bring one of the old ones out I’m shocked that they’re all equally lumpy. I totally fall for revisionist history that it’s only the one I’m used to seeing that’s lumpy but surely all the others I’ve made are perfect.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

