RSS Feed

New Sewing!

Posted on

I never win anything. Never. Seriously. But I still enter contests, giveaways, and raffles and guess what? I finally won something!! Sew Mama Sew is an awesome site/blog for sewing patterns, inspiration, and fabric.  They also offer a lot of giveaways. I was super excited last week to find out I won my choice of a pattern.  They had so many to choose from and I was torn about getting something for myself or Tabby, but ultimately decided on the Oliver + S pattern for the Ice Cream Dress.  I had seen many versions of it made (there was a sew along for it this summer, so lots of sewing blogs were posting pictures), it was a bit different from patterns I already have, and it’s a little bit expensive to buy, so I thought it was a good choice.  It arrived in the mail just this morning and I already have fabric for it.

Thank you, Sew Mama Sew! I can’t wait to make this!

In other super duper exciting news, I bought elastic thread (our trip to Grounds for Sculpture on Friday means that I got to duck into the nearest to us Joanns and buy this stuff) and gave shirring a go.  Ever since I read this easy tutorial at Flossie Teacakes on it I have wanted to try it. I can’t believe how easy it was! Now, because I just wanted to try it out while the kids were watching tv I just cut a long rectangle and did the lines on it. I will then turn it into the back half of a bodice of a top or sundress. So here’s how it started:

I hemmed it, then sewed the first line using elastic thread in the bobbin:

With the second line you could really see it looking shirred:

And finally:

From the back (they only had black thread, I would have preferred white, but it doesn’t show except on the back, so I guess it doesn’t matter)

I’m so excited with how it turned out and can’t wait to stitch it into a whole garment

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Ice Cream Dress « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

