RSS Feed

The Shirred Top

Posted on

Here is what I made out of that piece of shirred fabric:

I was not following a pattern, but rather saw that it would stretch around her chest, cut out a bottom piece to attach to the shirred bodice, and then cut out straps.  I decided to add a ruffle to the strap, which I think looks very cute.

I did have a shirring emergency as I was making this, which was that the shirring seemed to be coming out! I’m guessing I didn’t finish the end of each row securely enough?? I went back and added more rows and now the whole thing is rather thready and messy, but it looks cute enough from the outside.  I was also a little uncertain about when I attaching the bodice to the main part, as well as the straps to the top-should I be stretching out the shirred part??

I think it looks quite fetching and I’m sure with a little practice it will get even better.  Someone else wanted in on the photo shoot

I can’t believe my handsome little boy starts kindergarten next week! Already a not-on-top-of-school-things-mom I’ve been talking up Wednesday, the first day of school, marking it on the calendar and so on, and then realized last night that apparently the first day of school is actually next Friday. (Who starts school on a Friday?!) I’m also put out that every other kindergartener I know gets to meet their teacher before the first day of school. But not our school. So he gets on the bus on Friday and gets whisked off to a building where he will literally not have a single familiar face.  Fortunately he does not seem too worried about that, but honestly I think that is dreadful and is leaving me with a bad taste in my mouth before the year even begins! OK, can’t end on a bad note, so here’s good news-we’ve still got all four new hens, the old hens haven’t pecked them to death, oh! oh! and Paul installed our zipline this weekend and we’ve been having loads of fun on it. That will have to get its own post!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. The top looks awesome!

    I cannot believe Clark starts kindergarten this year. That’s craziness!

    Reply
  2. The top came out really cute. I am very impressed. Just think of all the wonderful things you can make. I too had been having a problem with threads coming out. I decided to do things the right way and found that hitting reverse for a few stitches at the end of a seam really locked things up. try it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

