RSS Feed

In the Sewing Room

Posted on

As soon as I saw the Farmdale Crossing fabric I knew I had to have it. And it had to be made into an apron. When Sew Mama Sew had a sale of the day on the Curio fabric, well clearly it was meant to be.  I also bought the Crosshatch fabric and used it to make bias binding.

Recognize the style pocket? It’s the same as used on the Ice Cream Dress.

I love how this looks. It makes me want to gather eggs in it and whip up an omelet. However, this apron is not intended for me!  Paul has been encouraging me to sell things I make and so I may be selling at a craft fair in November. We’ll see. In the meantime I am trying to sew as much as I can and build up an inventory.  I would sell aprons, jewelry rolls, and little zippered bags. In fact, I picked out lots of fabric combos from my stash and made a couple today.(These still need seams and corners trimmed, so no, they do not look perfect. Yet.)

I do love matching up fabrics and trims and seeing what I happen to have that looks good with other things. The denim was used to make Tabby a skirt, the fish came from the Odyssea apron, the gingham bias binding came from placemats. Sewing is the ultimate “green” activity! (except that I see all kinds of beautiful fabrics I simply must have.)

I feel at once excited about this possibility, and also thinking “who would pay money for my things?” and a great deal of anxiety over whether or not things are perfect. I figure that nothing I make would be so bad as to end up on Regretsy, so I’ve got that going for me. Also, here’s where it really sucks not to have a Jo-Ann’s or a Walmart (with fabric) nearby.  I’m working along and need some interfacing, or some thread just the right color, and I’m basically s-o-l. I can order notions online or I can drive almost 45 minutes to get what I need.

In other sewing news I made up a jumper for Tabby out of apple corduroy fabric I bought last spring. I didn’t think the plain A-line dress was long enough, so I added a ruffle. (these pictures are a bit lousy, but you get the idea.)

She hasn’t modeled it yet, so a photo of her in it will have to wait. I’m thinking she’ll wear a white turtleneck under this on school picture day.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

7 responses »

  1. First of all, you know I love the apron, of course. But secondly, that dress for Tabby is ADORABLE!!! I think it might be my favorite thing you’ve made for her yet. I remember having a little corduroy jumper when I was a kid; it was my favorite outfit. I hope Tabby loves this one as much as I loved mine!

    Reply
    • It’s just so perfect for a little girl in autumn isn’t it? I wanted to put a pocket on it, but she said no she didn’t want one. The fabric was not expensive, but it is super soft and cozy, really nice.

      Reply
  2. I *adore* that rooster fabric, and the trim fabric you chose is just perfect with it! I definitely think you’d do well selling your wares – I would certainly notice your stuff if I saw it at a craft show or on Etsy. Go for it!

    Reply
    • Thank you, Anne!! The best part about the trim is that I made too much of it, so now I have some more of it to use on something else!

      Reply
  3. I absolutely love the apron! What does it for me is the hem. That just makes me think of the 1950’s and June Cleaver.

    Reply
  4. Oh… and I came to your site from Lisa Clarke’s Polka Dot Cottage. Do you have a subscribe button? I’d like to keep reading your sewing adventures.

    Reply
    • I’m so happy to have a new reader! Thank you for your nice comments. I added the widget so you can do an email subscription. Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

