RSS Feed

Pocketed Prototype

Posted on

In the book A is for Apron there are several pages of photos of vintage aprons.  I love looking at them and there was one in particular I liked that was very full with many pockets across the bottom. I decided to see if I could copy it.  Because I was making this up I didn’t want to use any of the new designer fabric I’ve recently bought. What fabric you say? Why, all of this:

I searched my stash and found some cream colored polished cotton and some brick red with a little design on it.  I really liked what I came up with, though it was very very long.  I divided the two center pockets in half horizontally, which I really liked in terms of aesthetics.  However, I decided that it was too long and so  I cut off the bottom and resewed the hem and retrimmed it.  Much better.

Before:

After:

Also key to this apron is some sort of fun gewgaw (as my friend Liz says) at the pocket intersections. I chose these lovely little flowers to add.

Still trying to decide on a name-thank you for the poll and the suggestions! Cornish Kitchen seems to be the favorite, though I worry it’s too kitchen oriented, and I am personally drawn to something with Bluebird because I have a special fondness for them and I could use a little picture of a bluebird. We’ll see. I need to pick something soon so I can have cards made up for the craft fair!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Oooh, the prototype looks awesome now that it’s been shortened! I love that style and can’t wait to see if done up in the fun fabrics.

    Reply
    • Thanks! I am surprised at how much I like it in the “plain fabrics”! My head spins with how many things you can do with aprons.

      Reply
  2. Ooh, look at that awesome stash of fabric! You’ve got some really nice patterns there.

    I love your prototype! A pocketed apron is a brilliant idea.

    To chime in on the naming, I also like the sound of Cornish Kitchen a LOT, but I do think it might be misleading for people who might have been expecting baked goods or something similar. My vote was/is for Miss Bluebird!

    Reply
  3. LOVE the apron – gosh, what a logical thought to have pockets on an apron… yet I’ve never owned one with them before! Fabulous idea, & Love the flower buttons!

    In terms of names, I like anything that includes “Cornish” because it’s such a great name, & it’s yours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

