RSS Feed

Happy Birthday, Tabby!

Posted on

Today we celebrated Tabitha’s birthday with a party. A wonderful time was had by all.  She had requested a mermaid cake and I have to say I am pretty pleased with how it came out.  I baked cake in a 9×13 pan and 2 9″ round pans.  To figure out how I would cut the cake to the right shape I traced the pans on paper and then sketched what I wanted on top. Here is the baked cake laid out.

Then frosted with a crumb coat.

And a final frosting with starfish decorations in her hair (Starbursts rolled flat and sprinkled with sparkly sugar)

This cake was huge and did not fit in the refrigerator. Fortunately it was a cool morning so I put the crumb coat in the trunk of the car to chill, and then put the finished product in the basement.

We also played Pin the Tail on the Mermaid. I thought this was such a cute idea and the kids did have fun, but you know what? A game better suited to a few children rather than 15 all lined up and waiting and antsy for their turn!

The menu for this party was a bit different than usual.  We decided to have what I like to refer to as a Sandwich Board. Is that a real thing? I have no idea. But that’s what I keep calling it. We bought cold cuts and I beautifully arranged it on platters with a variety of breads and condiments.  There was also a spinach salad (yeah, that one I keep making with the mandarin oranges except this time I used toasted hazelnuts), curried chicken salad, and the perennial favorite of small children and adults alike-pigs in blankets.

After the lunch the weather was so nice that everyone headed outside to play and enjoy the zipline, rope ladders, see saw, and so on. I feel like we owe such a big thank you to Paul for making our yard a wonderland.

But the best of all was this:

Paul painted it and everyone had their picture taken in it!

Happy Birthday, Tabby!

Oh, I almost forgot! The party favor! I made these chocolate lollipops. Tabby kept saying “It’s me!” (She said that about the cake as well, was very pleased with hair color.)

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Wow, what a cool party! You guys are the best parents a kid could ask for, seriously. That cut out for posing photos for everyone is brilliant, too! Tabby’s friends’ parents will have a lot to live up to at their kids’ next parties!

    Reply
  2. Holy yowza! You’ve outdone yourself, Sarah! Bravissima! The cake is truly stunning, and those party favors… you’re such a great party planner! (That’s so cute that Tabby thought the mermaid looked like her. :D)

    Oh, and I love the perfect foliage in the picture of everyone under the tree there.

    Reply
  3. Thanks you guys! The cutout turned out to not be difficult at all, so I have a feeling we might be doing that again some day. Mermaid was definitely a fun theme to get a little carried away with. Eleanor I’m so happy I finally got a picture of the tree that shows its colors!

    Reply
  4. Wowee! What a party! You guys are the coolest parents, what with that cake and the wooden cutout! Happy birthday, Tabby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

