RSS Feed

The Apron Update

Posted on

I know you’re all waiting to hear with baited breath how it went yesterday.  I’ll get right to it-I sold two aprons and one jewelry roll. Even though I left the house saying that as long as I sold one thing I’d be happy, I was initially pretty disappointed. That said, every elderly person who walked past did look at the aprons and smile. And the two people who bought aprons (the pink and green one with the pom pom fringe and the Farmdale crossing one) were very happy.  A friend bought the jewelry roll for her mom, and that still counts.  Here’s why I’m not too upset–the overall scene was just not what I thought it would be.  I honestly thought there would be many people selling things like my items, but there weren’t.  This fair included “vendors”, which means they allowed people who do direct marketing sales (i.e., Tastefully Simple, Discovery Toys, and the like) there.  Most bizarre of all (to me) was the Cash For Gold lady. What? People bring their old gold to a craft fair to sell it for cash? That’s just weird.

So, I made $59 and spend $58 on some beautiful items.  There was a lady there who hand painted gourds and had charming Christmas tree ornaments; a lady who made beaded bracelets (I got one for Tabby with her name); and, my favorite, a woman who made stained glass ornaments and also used those techniques to display antique postcards.  So, she had these antique postcards, put glass on the front and back, and then scalloped copper “tape” (that’s what she said it was) around the edge, and then loops and a ribbon to hang.  I love antique holiday postcards anyway and it was neat to see them like this. I bought a Christmas and a Thanksgiving one for myself.  One of the cards is from 1910 and the other 1911. AND, the Thanksgiving one is addressed to a “Master Clark” and the message says “Well, is Clark going to have a turkey for Thanksgiving like this one?” How quaint is that? I just love seeing this century old handwritten message, and Clark doesn’t have a very common name, so it was cool to come across it like that.

So, will I give up apron making? Absolutely not. I love picking fabrics and putting them together and I love deciding on the finishing touches. I did not love feeling rushed by my need to have a certain amount by a certain time.  So I’ve decided I will continue to make them and then put them up on Etsy (I felt like it was a really long day at the craft fair just hoping the right potential buyer would walk by.)  I also do have two custom orders-one for a friend’s child, and one for a friend’s mother in law.  I’m looking forward to that very much. Oh, and I will definitely be making kids’ sized aprons and full length aprons (many people asked about that).  I’m also going to make a few “vendor aprons”–short ones with pockets for money.

After the long day I didn’t want to cook and we ended up taking the kids out to dinner. We decided to be brave and try out a……Christian cafe. I know, right? I’m uneasy about Christian bookstores and the like, but we’ve been thinking about going here because a)it has a separate entrance to the cafe and b)it has a big fish tank (if you have kids you know nothing entertains them in a restaurant quite like a giant fish tank.)  What a delightful evening it turned out to be! It was a cozy cafe and there was a musician playing live music. OK, he wasn’t so great (his singing was kind of awful, but his original classical guitar music pieces were beautiful) but the kids were thrilled by having live music during dinner and he was thrilled by their enthusiastic clapping and rapt attention (we were the only people there for quite a while) and the food was good and no one preached at us. So, Flemington area folks that’s a little plug for Connections. Just don’t go into the bookstore area because you will be assaulted by things like dvds saying they will tell you the “Truth About Dinosaurs.” <shudder>

And now we are going to have a relaxing afternoon doing this: making snow globe soaps!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

7 responses »

  1. I looked up the DVDs online. Turns out TRUTH is an acronym for To Reach Understanding Through Him. So, while it may not be capital T truth it is all capital truth.

    I’m pretty thrilled that you sold two aprons, by the way.

    Reply
  2. I think it’s a great start! Of COURSE you sold the pink with green pom poms aprom – that was such a special, gorgeous combination of fabric & materials!

    Sorry I couldn’t come by & check out your stuff, but next time I’ll be there to cheer you on!

    P.S. I think having a few full-length aprons would balance out your selection well…

    P.S.S. I can’t wait to see the “Clark” christmas ornament, sounds really neat!

    Reply
  3. Congratulations on selling 3 items! I think that’s a great start, particularly in a venue that wasn’t really perfect. Harnessing the power of the internet will probably make for better sales. I thought the Cornish Hen blog looked great — the little blurbs about each apron was a really nice touch.

    Did you sell the Ikea bird jewelry roll? If not, can you put it aside for me? I’ll bring my wallet next game night! (I needed it when I went to Dallas but only realized that the night I was packing. I was “Dang it! Why do Paul and Sarah have to live so far away?!” Hee!)

    Reply
    • That is the one that sold, Pookie! Sorry! And alas, I don’t have enough of that fabric to make another. I’d love to make it for you in another fabric though, if you like.

      Reply
  4. Gosh darn it! I should have claimed it as mine before the sale! I would totally love one in some other fabric though. We’ll have to discuss next game night.

    Reply
  5. Congratulations on your first sales!!! I’m sorry it didn’t turn out exactly as well as you’d hoped, but that’s still a great first step. I, for one, am thrilled for you!

    And I can’t wait to see this Clark ornament — it sounds like you did a great job shopping.

    Reply
    • Yes, I am great at shopping 🙂 Seriously, I am probably going to stalk this lady and buy more (she had some Valentine’s Day cards out,and interestingly she said antique Halloween cards are quite rare.) Must set up game night

      Reply

Leave a Reply

