RSS Feed

Gobble Gobble

Posted on

It’s funny how when there is lots going on that I’d love to photograph and write about, it simultanenously means I am too busy to do so.  First, some very sad news…poor Mr. Fancy Pants, our only rooster whom we’d only had for about two months, has become part of nature’s food chain.  We had a hawk (likely a Cooper’s Hawk) hanging around and then sure enough, a whole lot of dog barking, frightened looking hens, and a missing Fancy all added up to the hawk having gotten him.  Not only that, but somehow in that Blackie (our oldest hen and the boss of them all) got injured.  She has a limp and really did not appear to be doing well at all yesterday.  She’s still eating, though, and today she was walking around more, so hopefully she’ll recover.   It’s just so frustrating knowing there’s not much we can do for them (as long as they are going to be able to roam freely.)

I finally got around to doing garden cleanup.  Yanked everything out of the beds (except a brussels sprout plant), trimmed down the peonies, and hauled it all to the woods or compost.

I’ve been sewing quite a bit, trying to keep up with orders.  I completed this lovely full length apron, have cut out Christmas aprons for the kids, have cut out another child’s full length apron (adorable owls), and am still going to make more jewelry rolls. Oh, and I love how easy and satisfying it is to make these wrist pincushions! Here’s another:

We’ll be traveling for Thanksgiving, spending the holiday with my brother’s family in Vermont, so wishing everyone a very Happy Thanksgiving!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

