RSS Feed

Baking Elves

Posted on

I made Clark and Tabitha Christmas aprons to wear when baking Christmas cookies! Finished them last night and when they saw this morning they immediately wanted to make cookies. They are not the most reliable bakers: Clark complained about the noise of the mixer because he was trying to play a game while I made the dough;

he cut out the shapes nicely while she ate the dough I gave her; he decorated lavishly, I gave her three small cookies to decorate and she heaped them with all sorts of sugar-then I briefly left the room and when I came back she had promptly eaten the sugar heaped raw dough shapes.

 

All that said, we had a lovely time and we listened to Christmas music (which you know I love and we have a vast collection-today I listened to two new discs Paul brought home from the library: Croon and Swoon Christmas-nothing on this that we didn’t have on another discs, but nicely compiled classic Christmas songs, and Olde World Christmas-songs which sounded klezmer like, all instrumental).  I had been debating what sort of full length shape to make for these when I came across this:  Father & Son Barbecue Aprons, a vintage thing from who knows when.  I found the basic dimensions very useful, though.    I kept it pretty simple by using packaged bias binding for trim and ties at waist and neck.  These aprons are small, but still took an entire package!

No photos of finished cookies, but I can vouch for their deliciousness 🙂

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. What adorable and industrious elves! Looks like a pretty perfect way to spend a morning in the kitchen. (And I love the picture of the decorated reindeer.)

    Reply
  2. Love the aprons! Looks like an awesome time.

    Reply
  3. Oh my children were asking to make sugar cookies today too – I love the aprons you made your children – so special.
    Warm wishes,
    Tonya

    Reply

Leave a Reply

