RSS Feed

C is for Cookie…

Posted on

Ho Ho Ho! Nothing makes me feel so fully in the swing of the Christmas season as our annual cookie party.  As if Christmas is not enough of a theme, we have our party be a cookie party.  Not an exchange, though people do end up getting to take plenty of cookies home.  No, people bring a batch of their favorite Christmas cookies (ok, let’s be honest here friends, very few of you actually bring your favorite cookie.  Seems like everyone is trolling recipes seeking a new one to try that will wow everyone.) and then everyone votes on their favorite and a winner is named.  This year we had:

homemade Samoas (ML says she got the recipe from Rachael Ray, and they were fantastic), fudgy mint drops (Renee wasn’t even going to consider these as an entry because she didn’t like how they came out, but they came in second!), hidden kisses (the wonderful surprise of a white minty Hershey’s kiss inside a chocolate cookie), minty sandwich cookies (with a star beautifully stamped on each one-I thought these looked the “Christmassy”est), cran-orange drops (a favorite of mine-I love orange and cranberry together and these also seemed festive to me),  Nutter Butter Cookie Truffles (these are those truffles that have become popular that are crushed up cookies mixed with cream cheese and then dipped in ganache. yes, these had crushed up Nutter Butters in them. They were quite yummy, though I kept recalling that Paul’s co-workers (who are gaga for these) referred to them as “Reindeer Poop.”), Christmas Cake cookies (made with a cake mix and yet they didn’t taste quite like cake, tinted a lovely green), molasses not-crinkles (Clark was wild for these, and I was too-just a perfect molasses cookie that was soft and thin), saltine toffee (who doesn’t love this?), white chocolate coconut nut (these are heavenly), and I made pinwheels (with a raspberry-walnut-date filling), chocolate mosaics, and ginger squares.  That’s a lot of cookies!!

And the winner is….Nutter Butter Cookie Truffles! Congratulations Melissa and enjoy your prize apron!

And the runner up is…a tie! Mary Lynn’s Samoas and Renee’s Fudgy Mint Drops were equally loved.  They had to split the prize of potholders.

And speaking of the potholders, I had so much fun making these. I just started sewing together pieces of fabric and seeing what I came up with.  And I like what I did!

Oh, and how could I forget? I get a kick out of making punch and using a proper punch bowl and cups (truly vintage-it was Paul’s mother’s set and we have the original packaging for it.)  This punch was made from orange juice, orange sherbet, ginger ale, and prosecco.  Foamy and delicious! And for the kids-who were chomping at the bit when they saw sherbet going into a drink-I mixed up a pitcher of orange juice, pineapple juice, ginger ale, and the sherbet.  They loved it.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. We had a fabulous time! The cookies were all so good, it was really hard to vote! My kids didn’t even eat dinner that night, they were so stuffed with cookies, cookies, cookies!
    Leave it to you to have a “creative” party! I am loving my pot holder, which, by the way, I’ve decided is too pretty to use, so has now been designated as a piece of art…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

