RSS Feed

Felt and Sequin Ornaments

Posted on

Nothing says Christmas quite like sequin and felt ornaments and decorations.  Last year I made some sequined trees, but they didn’t look so great when I took them out of the box this year.  I had hot glued them on and that just wasn’t good enough. Then I saw Liz and Eleanor’s sequinning, asked how to do it, and found out it is very easy indeed (though of course theirs looks artisanal and professional and mine looks homemade.)  Here are the first two things I’ve made.  A wreath:

And this snowman, who is totally pimped out.  I wish I had figured out how to put arms on him.  I thought about inserting real sticks, but I forgot during the process.

I’m really pleased with the blanket stitch outlining each of these.  I sewed the felt together to make sure the stuffing stayed inside, and then did the blanket stitch to be purely decorative.

Did they have sequins in olden days? Because I have to say that threading your needle onto a seed bead is best done under a bright light.  I cannot imagine doing it by candlelight! I also cannot imagine hand sewing on bugle beads all over a gown.  I think I’ll stick with my felt goodies, thank you very much!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. They look great! And yeah, the whole beading-by-candlelight thing is so mind-boggling! (Just a quick aside — blanket stitch alone will keep the stuffing in. I mean, it’s not like a stuffed animal that’s going to get a lot of wear and tear, right?)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

