RSS Feed

A Little Last Minute Crafting

Posted on

Although I really wanted to do some embroidered items for Christmas the time got away from me and I had to face the facts that I wouldn’t be able to. Then, last night, while lying on the couch in front of the fire and reading Julia London’s Snowy Night with a Highlander in order to recuperate from the stress of a fruitless trip to Toys R Us and realizing Paul would not be getting two gifts I’d planned on, I realized why not just do a different, easier embroidery project? Something simple that perhaps I could work on a little today and a little tomorrow.  Liz and Eleanor had already graciously given me a piece of their gorgeous wool felt, so I was ready to go.

Let me tell you, this wool felt is a dream to embroider on. I think I’ll be buying some pieces in the new year.  And to make it even better I had a friend over this afternoon and while our little girls played we sat in front of the fire and I showed her how to sew on sequins and blanket stitch (she made a darling snowman with a sequined scarf) and I worked on my project.  It was so nice it was like a Christmas present to ourselves.

I also picked up two things I made at the art studio a couple weeks ago.  A painted ceramic ornament for ourselves (he’s double sided):

and this glass fusing project ( a dish) for a friend.  Santa looked suspiciously Terrance (or Phillip) before I added his beard, and he does still bear a resemblance, but overall I’m pretty pleased. (Which is good because I was feeling knocked down several pegs when I saw some other people’s snowflake projects that made mine look like a child did it.)

Merry Christmas Eve Eve!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. The Santa dish is ADORABLE! I love it. And I’m so, so, so, so glad you love the wool felt. I know it’s crazy expensive, but man, you get what you pay for with that stuff! It’s like sewing with solid gold! 😀 (Also, the bolts are like a million feet wide, so if you buy “a half yard” from Purl, it’s like a million-billion square feet of wool felt.)

    Merry Christmas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

