RSS Feed

Happy New Year!

Posted on

Although I know that it is a new year, I just can’t seem to get a grip on the actual year being 2011. The week between Christmas and New Year’s always seems a bit lost to me. We had some days at home, some days playing with friends, but it was a limbo week.  I’ve reached the point where the clutter from Christmas is getting to be a bit too much and I’m ready to tidy it all up.  I also wanted to do many year end type posts.  Last night I did a “best books of 2010” post, and I have a big wrap up of my project 365 in the works.  In the meantime, a few things to share.

First, I made this delicious orange cardamom cake for a Christmas celebration with friends.  Isn’t it pretty? And yes, a chunk of it stayed in the pan.  It was delicious and somewhat delicately spiced.

Yesterday I received the long awaited family cookbook (got the idea for it a year ago, this deliberately made and photographed the recipes.)  I’m really pleased with how it turned out.  I used Picaboo, which I find somewhat less cumbersome for bookmaking than Snapfish.

I am especially pleased with the cover 🙂

We had a nice New Year’s Eve going out with friends of ours-a nice celebration for the kids as well. Unfortunately we rang in the new year at 1:30am with Tabby vomiting in bed.  It seemed like a one time incident and we went out for brunch where both children vomited in the restaurant.  So now we are on the couch watching Tom and Jerry, going to watch the Wizard of Oz (their first time!), and I’m going to do my reflective photo post.  In the meantime, regarding other year end reflections:

Last year my resolution was to stop comparing myself to others.  I can’t say I fully succeeded at that, however, simply by having stated that and thought about it, I was very aware of whenever I did it and was able to cut back quite a bit. So good for me! It was a good year with some big firsts (kindergarten for Clark, preschool for Tabby), some big moments (after 6 years on the Board of Directors of YALSA I ended my term), some new challenges and adventures (I became the blog manager of a brand new blog for YALSA and grew in my sewing skills and began selling aprons under the name The Cornish Hen), some great travels (Williamsburg, Long Beach Island, and our staycation adventures), an increase in our household (Liesl in February, Sweetie in December, and many more chickens throughout), and many good times with friends (both old and new) and family.  Resolution for this year? To acknowledge that not everything has to happen at once, to be less cross with my children when they are naughty, to find more time to sew and get my etsy shop going, and to get my kids out hiking and canoeing more.

Best wishes for a very happy, prosperous, and healthy New Year to you and yours!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. Sounds like you’ve had an amazing year! Your creative accomplishments alone are an inspiration – what you’ve produced as a busy mother of 2 amazes me!

    Can’t wait to see the cookbook in person!

    Reply
  2. Happy new year!

    Congratulations on finishing the cookbook — the cover is adorable!

    Reply
  3. Happy new year!! It sounds like 2010 was a successful one (and the cookbook is clearly indicative of that — it looks GREAT!), and here’s hoping you have the same joy, adventure, and creative triumphs in 2011!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

