RSS Feed

Ice Storm!

Posted on

In our area the gigantic megastorm that swept up the midwest and into the northeast took the form of ice overnight.  When we woke up this morning everything was coated in a beautiful clear layer of ice.  The trees looked like crystal. (And, incidentally, whenever I see a tree coated in ice I think of a book I read as a child called The Crystal Tree.)

Unfortunately ice can be heavy and damaging to trees. We lost one big branch off our big tree in the back and while I was standing outside I heard a crack and saw about half a tree fall over in our neighbor’s back field.  It is amazing how resilient and flexible seemingly immobile tree trunks are, though.  The white birch by our driveway had bent over completely blocking out driveway! Who knew it could bend like that?

Here’s a comparison of it in the morning, and then several hours later when enough ice had melted off of it for it to spring back up:

The birds were grateful for our birdseed, though they couldn’t get it from the feeders so I sprinkled it right on the icy crust of the ground and picnic table. Doesn’t the orange feeder look like a fringed lamp?

By midafternoon things were melting, which meant that you could stand outside (safely, on the porch!) and hear bits of ice crashing down in the woods and trees.  I did see a couple giant icicles fall off the power lines and smash in the middle of the road, too.

A few other favorite pictures (and my favorite is here):

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. I love the fringed-lamp bird feeder! That’s bizonkers! And I’m stunned by the birch tree — I had no idea trees could be that bendy.

    Reply
  2. Wow, that is a lot of ice! You got some really terrific photos, though, and I’m glad most of your trees escaped unharmed.

    Reply
  3. Gorgeous photos!!! Long live the trees!

    Reply
  4. Thanks everyone! I’m so pleased I could actually capture some of what I was seeing. Especially because it only lasted a few hours! (Eleanor, thinking of making one be “Something fleeting” on SMERSH)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

