RSS Feed

Happy Valentine’s Day

Posted on

I’ve definitely grown to see that as a sweet holiday for my kids.  I can’t believe how excited they get about and we don’t even lavish them with presents or anything.  It pleases me that they are so thrilled by making and receiving cards and little candies.  I got to be at Clark’s class today and when I walked in and saw all the kids walking around delivering their valentines to their classmates’ mailboxes it sent me right back in time to when I did that. It was quite adorable.

For dinner tonight we had two giant hearts.  The first was a stuffed broccoli and chicken pizza that I got the recipe for out of Canadian Family.  [It was not meant to be a heart, that was my doing.]  I pretty pleased with how it came out and it was yummy to boot.

Dessert was heart shaped angel food cake with whipped cream and berries.  The day was exceptionally warm and balmy-it truly feels like spring is around the corner, and even more so when we spied this in a patch of recently uncovered ground:

You may recall that last year we got a membership to Grounds for Sculpture.  We planned that we would go once each season.  Yesterday was the perfect afternoon to go since it was definitely still winter-plenty of snow around-but not too cold.

And we finally go to experience the “warming hut”- a beautiful round wooden building with a gas fireplace in it.  You can duck in, warm up, and continue on your way.  What I’m loving so far about this membership is that we’ve seen something new every time we’ve been there.  Plus, this time, we had a ton of fun with the ducks!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Have I ever mentioned that any time I read one of your blog posts I leave feeling a little bit happier? You make my day Sarah! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

