RSS Feed

Midwinter Sew-Up

Posted on

Midwinter Sew-a-thon? Midwinter Craft-a-Thon? Midwinter Meetup? Call it what you will, it was awesome.  A couple months ago Liz and Eleanor and I decided we must have a winter day together where we could sit and stitch and enjoy.  [And the whole reason it came about/was called that is because this is the first year in many many years I did not attend the ALA Midwinter Meeting.  So it was wonderfully odd and refreshing to say Midwinter and not have it mean meetings.]
We ran out of firewood during the cold spell a few weeks ago and got some more just in time for us to be able to have a cozy fire.  Paul took the kids to the movies and we settled in in front of a marathon of bad/wonderful tv (House Hunters Int’l. and Four Weddings.  Read Eleanor’s description of it here.) For snacks I made bacon and cheddar muffins, orange-curry nuts, and hot candied nuts. Oh, and chocolate cookies.  The cookies came out so beautiful, but I neglected to photograph them.
I wasn’t sure what I’d make (I wanted a hand stitching project) and then I saw Liz’s Negatron (the negative Valentine robot.)

That inspiration turned into…Pirate Robot.  Here’s my sketch and cutting out shapes.
And here’s the finished product!


I used metallic thread for his hook, and of course instead of all wheels he’s got one peg leg. I’m delighted with him and Clark was superthrilled I made something for him. Of course, what do you do with it? I’ll be putting a back on it and a loop to hang it.  Not really a fun toy for a kid, but nice to look at.  And of course now I want to do a whole series of robots. Santa robot…valentine robot….knight robot…what else could I do?

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. I love the pirate robot (with peg leg!) May I suggest a robot Easter Bunny? 🙂

    Happy sewing!

    Reply
  2. Sounds like a delightful afternoon! How about a robot princess (for Tabby!), and, of course, a robot hen!

    Reply
  3. Oooh, Robot Easter bunny and robot hen are great choices! And a robot baby for Tabby.

    Thanks again for such a great day! It was fun beyond my wildest imaginations! It felt crazy productive AND crazy battery-recharging!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

