RSS Feed

Happy Birthday Dear Grandma (Mom) !

Posted on

Today is my mother’s birthday and we had her over for a birthday celebration. On the menu: butternut squash risotto, green beans almondine, and roast pork.  For the birthday cake: Peachy Cake Roll.  A friend told me about this cake last week and I knew right away I wanted to make it. I love jellyroll cakes, and I also like to make springtime cakes for mom’s birthday.

The filling is simply peaches, cream cheese, and confectioners’ sugar.  Even though this is the first time I’ve made this recipe, I did make some changes. Instead of vanilla I used almond extract.  And, I served ginger whipped cream with it (minced crystallized ginger and a dash of powdered ginger mixed into my freshly whipped cream.)  It was pretty fantastic if I say so myself!

And I felt extra crafty by making this flag to stick into her bouquet-cut out paper, sewed together, trimmed the edges, stamped it, put a stick in it, and put it in the flowers!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Wow, that cake looks SO delicious! I don’t know if I’ve ever had jelly-roll cake before, when I think of it. Must get my hands on some!

    Reply
    • The jellyroll cake is so fun to make (and it makes you feel very old fashioned). You spread it out in a pan, bake it only 12 minutes, roll it up in a towel and leave it. Then you unroll, spread the filling on, and roll back up again. The cake is very spongy (3 eggs, very little butter or shortening) and amazingly does not crack!Plus, you can fill it with lots of different things.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

