RSS Feed

Spring Has Sprung

Posted on

There is no surer sign of spring at our house than the emergence of Big Green Froggie.  It seems like a small miracle each year that what you learn about dormancy-hibernation-winter-spring really is true-the frog burrows down for the cold, icy, snowy winter in the pond’s mucky bottom and warms up and comes to the top in the spring.  This year it was an extra miracle because we thought he died midway through the summer!!

Unfortunately….we do have some bad pond news.  In the past we have taken care to rid the pond of fallen leaves and debris in the fall and cut back the plants.  This year we just did not do it and the sad results are: when Paul cleaned out the pond yesterday (after seeing the frog) he found a dead frog and many dead fish, including some of our large ones.  Apparently the buildup of dead stuff creates too much nitrogen and basically their underwater air quality is poor enough that they die 😦  Sad lesson learned–don’t neglect your fall garden cleanup.

So Paul cleaned it out and the fountain is burbling, the water looks fresh and clear, and we saw the frog again.  This time he was in the (not cut down) cattails.  He’s still pretty sluggish so I was able to reach out and touch him. By the way, according to last year we first spotted him on March 11, pretty close to now, although last year’s photos also show the first crocus and balmier days. The year before we first spotted him on March 8 (apparently along with snakes, so I’ve got that <shudder> to look forward to.) So, March 5, 8, and 11th-looks like the froggie rhythm of spring is well established.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. I noticed yesterday that my primrose leaves are bright green and perky. I am also noticing weeds popping up here and there (of course) and my strawberry plants seem ready to go – until they were snowed on, at least. I feel like Mary Lennox in The Secret Garden this time of year, hearing golden trumpets of SPRING!!!!

    🙂 I love your frog. My dog Ali’s favorite job is to hunt for toads. When she finds one she will get excited and come get us, then we have to move it to Toad Hall (my garden corner outside the fence with a toad house town). She takes her job very seriously and will stay at it for 30 min or so at a time, which is pretty remarkable for a dog, I think.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The Loooong Weekend « So what? Sew buttons!

Leave a Reply

