RSS Feed

Ruffles Galore

Posted on

I decided to make Tabby a skirt that was all pink ruffles.  I pulled out some lovely pieces of fabric I had bought in a mystery scrap bundle from Hawthorne Threads.  I was making this up as I went along. Basically I used the pink fairy fabric to be the base, then hemmed and gathered three long rectangles of other pink fabric, sewed them onto the big fairy rectangle, then sewed the second side seam. Then I did an elastic waist. The only unsatisfying thing to me about this is that the bottom layer isn’t ruffled like the others, and that ruffling and then doing an elastic waist really gathers it up a lot.

Here’s my mannequin holding on to the skirt for me. Doesn’t it look like she should wear a bowl of fruit on her head and some tight cigarette pants?

The finished product.

Now, here’s the thing. This was pretty easy, though took a while (the hemming and gathering.) There are lots of threads and unfinished seams galore. And do you know why? Because I assume that a 3 1/2 year old girly girl who loves pink and ballet and all that stuff would be gaga for a lovingly made ruffle skirt.  But the truth is she is very stubborn about what she wears and who knows if she will ever wear it? Her gorgeous cherry pants? Worn ONCE. Once! So I hope she’ll wear this more, but in case she doesn’t I wasn’t about to put in the effort for finished seams. (It took a lot of persuasion to get her to put it on for these pictures.)I think she looks very adorable in it and despite that griping am glad I made it. Makes me want to ruffle up some aprons!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

