RSS Feed

Egg-stravaganza!

Posted on

One day's haul
With the longer days the hens are beginning to produce more eggs. Today I collected eleven. ELEVEN! I think Paul needs to make us a new “eggs for sale” sign because we certainly are not using nearly a dozen eggs a day.  And, coincidentally, I just learned that the eggs of chickens that roam about (as ours do) have twice as much Omega-3 fatty acids and 1/3 the amount of cholesterol as regular eggs.  So, hooray for our hens!  We did have another hen die, presumably of old age? She was a hand-me-down who had always been a little standoffish, but I think it was a surprise to Paul when he opened the coop door in the morning and all the other chickens ran across her corpse.
In garden news the peas are doing great
Sprouted Snow Peas

Some hostas are emerging
Hosta

And the plum tree is in full bloom! A day of unseasonable high temps led to lots of time playing outside and yes, the first sunburn. Check out this proud driveway writer:
IMG_8913

I truly am not sure what prompted him to write “did you know a shark could bite through metal scuba?” But he’s clearly pleased as punch with it.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. If only you could send us eggs through the interwebs! The peas and hostas are looking awesome.

    Reply
  2. Pookie’s right — we’ll take some of those eggs! Um, over the interwebs, because you probably shouldn’t be just setting them aside for the next time we’re over. 🙂

    And that picture of Clark cracks me up.

    Reply
  3. I wish I could just shuttle some eggs through the interwebs! I’m sure we’d have tons of customers then 🙂 Well, when I go down to use my PQW birthday coupon in the next couple weeks I’ll drop some eggs off for you.

    Reply
  4. Well, of course that is a very important fact, well worth immortalizing in driveway chalk 🙂 Sorry about your hen, but congrats on the egg bounty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

