RSS Feed

In the Garden

Posted on

I have been so behind here and daily think about everything I want to write about–my birthday celebration, my new crafting supplies, Easter, and more. Since that it just too much to do right this minute instead I’ll focus on the garden. This is the time of spring when suddenly everything is turning the most magnificent green and every day there is something new to find.

springmosaic   Here’s what you’re seeing:

Row 1: pink tulip in afternoon light, nasturtium and marigold seeds growing in a pot, pink and green striped tulips that are a happy surprise every year
Row 2: morning glory seeds started in pots, lettuce seedlings coming up (and I used some of my new baker’s twine to make rows in the garden), the peas are a few inches high and latching on to the pea supports
Row 3: we continue to have a beautiful variety of daffodils (note to self: you can never have too many-plant more next fall!), the colors of spring-violets and dandelions in bright green grass, the Japanese maple is fully leafed now
Row 4: the lilacs began to bloom yesterday and smell heavenly, the peas, the various hostas are unfurling away

This year I knew I would not be able to plant anything from seed unless it was safely in a pot (preferably behind the garden fence) because of the chickens. I planted two lovely blooming perennials and within minutes for one plant, and a day for the other, the chickens had dug them up and ruined them. Very frustrating. Planting new plants is definitely a challenge with them.
Overall I’m very pleased with our springtime progress!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

