RSS Feed

Update: The Sewing Room

Posted on

I had it in my head that I’d do this great post of a parade of summer tops–all of which I’d make in the span of a week or so.  Well, so far I made two tops a few weeks ago.  This red top is the same pattern I made last year where you cut out one giant piece and stitch it together.  I really like this, although it’s a bit loose at the shoulders.  Liz and Eleanor happened to come over and I asked for a picture of me wearing the top, which turned into a hilarious photo shoot.
Red Sleeveless Top
I also made another one of my standby pattern, this time extra long tunic length.  Ugh. I just realized I didn’t even take a picture of myself in it! This is the lamest photo free post ever! So, it’s a coral colored top, with a green patterned border.  On deck are a pile of awesome fabrics, including two lightweight voiles.

Other sewing projects to come are an apron for Clark’s kindergarten teacher as an end of year gift (he requested it have a big heart on the front, awwww…).  I’ve also been working on something sort of secret. This would account for not having sewn tops for myself or skirts for Tabby, as it’s what I’ve spent most of my free time on. Would love to post lots of pics, but really can’t. But here’s a little teaser..

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. I’m so glad you’re back! 🙂

    I did a little sewing this week too. All my ‘jammies were flannel, from winter, and it jumped from 55F to 90F here in the span of about a week I think, so I grabbed an old sheet and made some shorts to sleep in. Not attractive and far too big for me, but it was a good place to get back in the game, and I desperately needed them! They are quite cool and comfortable.

    I have a lot of sheets, some that are really pretty, so I’m going to try to do some sundresses next. I don’t want to mess up ‘real’ fabric until I feel that I can sew again. I’m also doing a lot of studying to figure out how to alter patterns to fit my decidedly-not-standard shape, but I know I’ll learn more playing around than I will with books! Maybe once the garden is all in I’ll have more time to sew – I’m super interested in it right now.

    Reply
    • Hello! How nice to be welcomed back 🙂 I’m always intrigued in books when people use wonderful sheet fabric to make things. I never have sheets I’m willing to party with, though! So far I’ve been making clothes for myself following a pattern and hoping for the best, which doesn’t make the best fit always. Since I’ve been making loose tops, though, it’s ok (though my latest top is falling off my shoulders and I’m not sure how to fix it.) I hope this summer I’ll actually make the dress I planned on making last year, which will be quite a challenge for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

